Salon software comparison

Salonist Alternative: Salonipy vs Salonist, Fresha & Vagaro

Four popular salon systems, compared from their own public pages, with the things that usually decide it: how you are charged, what the trial covers, and whether WhatsApp and per-staff fees are part of the price. We make Salonipy, so we say plainly where the others are stronger.

Checked 31 Oct 2026Sources: official pricing pages

The short version

Choose Salonipy if

You run one or a few salons, want one low yearly price for the whole team, need billing that works offline and want WhatsApp reminders without moving to a high plan.

Choose Salonist if

You want a monthly-plan system with unlimited staff, a marketplace listing and add-ons such as AI messaging, and you are happy to step up plans for WhatsApp, inventory and memberships.

Choose Fresha or Vagaro if

Getting found by new clients through a big marketplace (Fresha) or a US-style per-calendar setup (Vagaro) matters more to you than the lowest price.

Side-by-side: what each one lists publicly

SalonipySalonistFreshaVagaro
How you pay Per salon, per year. Basic USD 70, Pro USD 100, or USD 300 for 4 years (3 + 1 free) Per month. Essential USD 59, Advance USD 109, Expert USD 179 (annual prices not shown on the page) Per team member per month. A single-person plan, and a Team plan priced per member (shown in PKR for us) Per month. USD 23.99 intro rate for 6 months (USD 30 listed), plus USD 10 for each extra bookable calendar
Free trial7 days, no card7 days, no card7 days30 days
Per-staff feeNoneNone: unlimited staff on every planYes on the Team planYes, per extra bookable calendar (up to 7 licences)
WhatsApp / SMS remindersWhatsApp reminders included in BasicWhatsApp and SMS start on the Advance plan; gateway charges are billed separately20 free automated texts or WhatsApp a month, then charged per messageText and email reminders listed as unlimited
Client marketplaceNo. Each salon gets its own booking linkFree marketplace listing plan with 50 appointments a monthYes. A one-time fee applies to new clients found thereNot covered here
Commission and payrollIncludedCommissions and tips from EssentialListed as unavailable on the Team plan tableNot covered here
Works offlineYes, syncs when the internet returnsNot stated on its pricing pageNot stated on its pricing pageNot stated on its pricing page

Information taken from each company's public pricing page on 31 October 2026. "Not stated" means the page did not say, not that the feature is missing. Plans, prices and regional currency change often, so confirm the current figures on each official site before you decide. Salonist, Fresha and Vagaro are trademarks of their owners; Salonipy is not affiliated with them.

What it costs a five-person salon, roughly

Plans are priced in different ways, so a like-for-like number is rough, but it shows why the pricing model matters. Using the published prices above for a salon with five bookable staff, before add-ons, tax and card fees:

  • Salonipy Pro: USD 100 a year for the whole salon, whatever the team size.
  • Salonist Advance (the plan that adds WhatsApp, SMS, inventory and memberships): USD 109 a month, so about USD 1,308 a year if you pay monthly. Staff count does not change it.
  • Vagaro: a base price plus USD 10 for each extra bookable calendar, so about USD 64 to 70 a month for five people, roughly USD 770 to 840 a year.
  • Fresha Team: priced per team member each month, so the bill rises with every stylist you add, plus charges for messages beyond the free allowance.

The point is not that one number is "right". It is that per-salon pricing stays flat as you hire, while per-staff and per-plan pricing climbs. If you plan to grow, run your own numbers with the salon software cost calculator.

Where the others are stronger

  • Marketplaces. Fresha and Salonist list salons where new clients can discover them. Salonipy does not have a marketplace; it is built for managing the clients you already have.
  • Track record and scale. Salonist, Fresha and Vagaro are larger companies with bigger customer bases and add-ons such as AI assistants and branded client apps.
  • Longer trial. Vagaro lists a 30-day trial. Salonipy's is 7 days.

Where Salonipy is stronger

  • One flat yearly price. Basic or Pro covers the whole salon with no per-staff fee, and prices are shown in your local currency.
  • WhatsApp in the base plan. Reminders and day close are part of Basic. See appointments and reminders.
  • Built for markets with patchy internet. Billing and appointments keep working offline and sync later.
  • Staff pay done properly. Attendance, commission and payout come from the same bills. See salon billing and the commission guide.
  • Pro adds the rest. Memberships, bridal bookings, walk-in queue, marketing, owner alerts and multi-branch with staff roles are in Pro. Full list on the features page.

How to test it fairly in a week

  1. Start the 7-day trial and add your real staff and services.
  2. Run three normal days of bills and appointments alongside your current system.
  3. Send a few WhatsApp reminders to regular clients and see who confirms.
  4. On day seven, check three things: did closing the day take less time, did commission match what you would have paid, and did the team find it easy.
  5. Compare the full-year cost, not the first month, including messages and add-ons on whichever system you are leaving.

See also our wider guide to choosing salon management software and the pricing page. Looking for something free? See what free salon software really includes.

Frequently asked questions

What is a good Salonist alternative?

It depends on what you need. Salonipy suits small and mid-sized salons that want a low yearly price, no per-staff fee, offline billing and WhatsApp reminders. Fresha and Vagaro suit salons that want a large client marketplace or are US-focused. Compare current prices on each product's own pricing page.

Does Salonist charge per staff member?

According to its public pricing page when we checked on 31 October 2026, Salonist lists unlimited staff on every plan with no per-user fees. Its plans are priced per month, and features such as WhatsApp and SMS and inventory start on higher plans.

Is Salonipy cheaper than Fresha or Vagaro?

Salonipy is priced per salon per year, with no per-staff fee, so the gap grows as the team grows. Fresha lists a price per team member per month and Vagaro lists extra charges per additional bookable calendar. Always check the current numbers and any add-on or messaging charges before you decide.

Can I try Salonipy before leaving my current software?

Yes. Salonipy has a 7-day free trial with no card needed, so you can run a few days of real bills and appointments beside your current system before you switch.

Does Salonipy have a client marketplace like Fresha?

No. Salonipy gives each salon its own public booking link to share on Instagram, Google and WhatsApp. It is not a marketplace where new clients browse many salons, so it fits salons that already have clients and want to manage them well.

Try it on your own bills

7 days free, no card needed. One price for the whole salon.

Start Free Trial

More to read

๐Ÿ’ฌ